Skip to main content

Brookes Bible College Library: Library Collections, Services, & Policies

LibGuide to Library Resources & Services

Welcome to the Library!

Welcome to the Brookes Bible College Library website! The electronic resources for this website have been selected and compiled by Rumyana Hristova, the current librarian at Brookes, and her predecessor, Kathleen Buescher-Milligan. We hope you will find them useful, enjoyable, and inspiring in your learning, teaching, and research activities! 

Brookes Bible College Library is open:

Monday: 8:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday: 8:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

We are located at: 10257 St. Charles Rock Rd., St. Ann, MO 63074
(Click here for a Google map)

The library, with its collection of about 5000 volumes, is a center of study and learning for the students and faculty of Brookes Bible College. Its primary objectives are to support the curriculum, student inquiry, and research. This is accomplished by acquiring and maintaining adequate materials, providing professional services, and engaging in library and information literacy instruction. The library is also available to the Christian community and the public.

The online catalog is the best source for identifying books, DVDs, and other catalogued materials. You can access our online catalogue 24/7 here.

You can obtain information on the rules for using the library in the Library Handbook & Policy Manual.

Collections

The Library is the home of one of the best collections of evangelical and fundamental Bible study materials in the St. Louis region, which has been gathered since 1907.  The collection supports the study and research needs of students, faculty, and staff at Brookes for Bible study, pastoral and counselling work, and ministry vocations. The Library of Congress Classification System (LCC) is used and the library’s holdings are predominantly in four subject areas:

Christianity (classifications starting with BR)
The Bible (classifications starting with BS)
Doctrinal theology (classifications starting with BT)
Practical theology (classifications starting with BV)

The print collection includes four distinct sections:

Circulation – Comprises the majority of the shelving and has core materials that are available to be loaned to students, faculty, alumni and staff.

Reference  – Comprised of materials which are most useful for in-library use (commentaries, subject encyclopedias, etc.). This material is typically not loaned out.

Periodicals - Comprises a number of scholarly journals and magazines, which contain the latest research in Christian and theological education.

Archives and Rarities – The pre-1926 special collection includes many 19-century titles by titans of the faith. This special collection may be used in the library and is never loaned out.

The online resources, which are featured in this website (LibGuide), comprise Open Access materials, which are freely accessible on the Internet: journal articles, e-books, chapters, videos, images, maps, and more. They have been selected specifically to support the study, information, and research needs of Brookes students, faculty, staff, and alumni, as well as the Christian community and general public.

Library Services

Instruction and Information Services:  The Library provides assistance with finding information, conducting research, writing essays and research papers. We have a designated area for a Writing Lab in the Library. Class instruction and one-on-one consultations are provided at request.  Faculty are welcome to request the purchase of books and media for their teaching, learning, and research needs.

Public Computing:  Wireless Network - a public (unsecured) wireless network is available to serve students and patrons while they are on campus. Computers on wired networks are available as well.

Outreach Services:  Public, academic, and theological libraries across the community are available to visit and use onsite. Ask the Librarian for Info-Pass, which will grant you borrowing privileges from the libraries members of the St. Louis Regional Library Network (SLRLN). Interlibrary Loan service, through which materials can be obtained from any library in the U.S., is available through membership at the St Louis County Library or St. Louis Public Library systems.

Brookes Bible College exists to provide Biblical education to develop servant leaders who will transform the world for Christ.